Ideation Wahala!!!

Ideation Wahala!!!

It’s a new year and the team in charge of the ADA software training program did not fail to remind us that there was no time for dulling. Before the break, we started the wildfire ideation phase of the program and it did show us fire. We were asked to form a team and each team was meant to come up with a product, build it and demo it in ten days. I remember thinking, “no be juju be that ''. Initially, I joined Team idealist as one of the frontend developers but had to change groups due to some reasons. I joined Team Prime and we came up with an app called DonoH.

DonoH app is a healthcare application that allows people to donate and receive donations. It could be blood, money or whatever it is that benefits the healthcare system. So the app would have two major users; The donor and the recipient.

For the project, I worked as one of the front-end developers. I worked on the landing page and dashboard page. These pages were built with the basic frontend development tools; HTML5 for content and structuring of the page, CSS3 for layout and styling of the page and Javascript for functionalities. I also worked on the page with bootstrap. It is a css library that provides CSS classes and components that make building a UI easy and fast. Working on these screens I had to make sure they looked as close to the design as possible. The pages were built mobile first and I ensured that it was responsive on all devices.

Reading up on the bootstrap documentation while trying to build a close-to-perfect screen in less than 10 days was quite challenging. I got a bit confused while working on the navigation bar for the landing page. I had never used bootstrap to make an off-canvas responsive navigation before. At one point, the documentation became confusing.

What did I learn from this experience? For me, it would be collaboration and patience. A lot of us on the team had issues with power and data and we had to cover up for some and even make adjustments to their codes if need be. The project manager on the team was always on our necks and most of the team members were not that experienced. We did make a lot of mistakes and there were a lot of gbas gbos in the group. But in all, it was an interesting experience. I learned that as a team member, you would have to adjust and adapt and try your best to always deliver a quality product.

We plan on continuing with the app as a personal project and hopefully getting investors to sign up. The app is a work in progress and with time we would make the necessary updates and upgrades.